It doesn’t take long to reverse progress

I was scheduled to see my doctor today to review lab work for my recurring high cholesterol issue. I had my blood work drawn three days after Thanksgiving, not such a great idea.

I’ve been taking Crestor for a while now and I see my doctor every six months to get rechecked. I’ve made progress with raising the good cholesterol and lowering the bad, but the triglycerides have remained high. This visit was not good news. I should have known when my doctor started asking questions about my diet and exercise. The good cholesterol went down and the bad went up! Ugh! But I did lose a few pounds and I’m happy about that.

So, I’m back to using my food diary and changing up my exercise routine. It’s amazing how you can reverse progress in such a short amount of time! I’m glad that this is really the only health issue I have, but am concerned that the medication doesn’t seem to help enough.

I’ll spend my evening browsing heart healthy recipes on Pinterest to get some ideas. The picture below was yummy but not heart healthy since the shrimp were soaked in melted butter!

What heart healthy meals are your favorites?

20121203-202802.jpg

Leave a Reply

