10 years ago today…

Today is a very special day. Ten years ago I went on my first date with my husband, John. We celebrate this day with more passion than our wedding anniversary. We met through Yahoo personals and had been emailing and chatting online for several weeks. We finally decided to meet in person for our first date on July 6, 2002. He lived a few hours away, so he was going to drive to my town and meet me that afternoon. It was a Saturday. We agreed to have lunch and possibly see a movie. I was incredibly nervous. I changed outfits a number of times and finally decided on wearing a red tank top with khaki capri pants and sandals. We met at a public location, Ramada Inn. It was a place he was familiar with since he had been there for baseball card shows. I left my car and rode with him to Milano’s Italian cafe. We had a nice lunch at one of my favorite places, but I think we were both too nervous to eat much. πŸ™‚

After lunch, he followed me back to my house that I shared with my roommate, Stacy. We chilled out there for a while and watched t.v. while getting to know each other. Later that evening, we decided to go to the movies. The movie we wanted to see was The Bourne Identity, but it was sold out. Our second choice was Minority Report. We had a nice time. One indication that we had hit it off was our constant looking at each other during the movie.

After the movie, we went back to my house to enjoy each other’s company. Since he lived so far away, I insisted he sleep on our couch for the night. I just couldn’t bring myself to let him drive home at the late hour.

I love re-living this day in my life.Β  I probably wouldn’t recommend anyone using dating sites to find their mate, but in my case it worked for me. We took plenty of time getting to know each other before meeting in person. We spent hours sending emails and chatting every day and finally talking on the phone, then meeting for our first date. From then on, we were inseparable.

Tonight we will have another date, celebrating this milestone in our lives. I’ll let you know how it goes. πŸ™‚

p.s. I even have Minority Report for us to watch. πŸ™‚

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

