Happy Father’s Day!

Happy Father’s Day! I’m very blessed to have a wonderful dad and a wonderful husband who is also a great dad! Today is all about them! We are having a family dinner, as we usually do. I am preparing a squash casserole and mac n cheese. We usually have a large variety of desserts, but since my parents are both pre-diabetic now, we have made changes to our menu.We have more vegetables, less bread and sugar and no more extreme sweet tea that is traditionally served here in the south. I could devote an entire blog post to this subject, but for today I’ll stick to the Father’s Day theme.

My dad was the first love of my life and to this day I am still a daddy’s girl. He has always been there for me for advice and to help me when I needed it. He never wants gifts for this occasion, birthdays or Christmas. But I try to make him something home cooked and that’s usually what he would rather have along with spending time with our family. I am saddened when I hear of friends that aren’t close to their dads. I can’t imagine not having a relationship with the man that molded me into the woman I am today. Thanks dad!

And my husband, John is a great dad to my daughters and such a wonderful grandpa too. Even though he is not their natural father, he truly acts like it. There are times he has to step in and handle things for the girls when I’m busy at work. He supports me in everything I do. And its amazing watching him with our granddaughter, Phoenix. He can enter the room and she brightens up immediately. He speaks and she is in awe of him. It’s the most precious thing I’ve ever seen. Thanks, John for being there for us and bringing joy and happiness into our world. You’re the best!

To all dad’s – Happy Father’s Day! Enjoy your day!

 

My dad and mom

 

Me and my hubby, John

 

Phoenix

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

