Happy Birthday to my first daughter, Jan’a

June 8, 1990….22 years ago, I gave birth to my firstborn daughter. It seems like yesterday, but now she is a beautiful grown woman with a child of her own.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’ll never forget the night before. I watched The Cosby Show – the episode where Sondra has the twins. Soon as the show was over, I rolled myself off the couch and my water broke. It was almost midnight, and her dad would be home from work soon. We headed to the hospital and were transfered to Vanderbilt Childrens Hospital in Nashville since she was premature. At 2:27 p.m Jan’a Mechele was born. Small but healthy. What a beautiful moment!

Being a mother is one of my most rewarding jobs. I have treasured these years watching her grow up.

Today is a special day. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

