Life isn’t always sunshine and flowers

After having one of my best workout weeks ever….the stomach flu hits. Hard. I didn’t suffer alone though. My husband and I were confined to our bedroom in hopes that our teenage daughter wouldn’t catch it. Thankfully, we made it back to health in a few days. We both lost a few pounds since we weren’t able to eat solid food for 2 days. He joked with me that we should market our weight loss plan. πŸ™‚ Sorry, babe I wouldn’t wish that on anyone.

Now, I’m hoping to get back into my workout plan. Slowly. I will walk everyday this week and plan on getting back into running by Friday. It’s amazing how a little stomach flu will affect your life.

As if this wasn’t enough to hold me back, I had another blow. The half marathon I wanted to sign up for sold out in 6 hours! Last year they sold out in 11 days, so I thought I would be fine waiting until after work on June 1 to register. I was shocked to read a tweet that it had sold out! So, its back to the drawing board…to find another half marathon for me. I already have one in mind. The Nashville Women’s Half Marathon is in September. I did the 5k last year that ran at the same time and it sounds like a possibility. My only issue….Nashville has lots of hills! I do love the way the names are printed on the race bibs. People lining the streets shout out your name as you run. Now that’s empowering!

Nashville Women’s Half and 5k
2011

But now that I’ve vented about my disappointments over the past week, I feel much better and am going to dust myself off and get up! Each day is a new day and I’m thankful for that! It would be nice if everyday was filled with sunshine and flowers, but it just doesn’t work that way.

 

Leave a Reply

