The best run of my life…

 

I had the best run of my life today. I went to my gym, Murfreesboro Athletic Club for a treadmill workout, since its almost 100 degrees here. Gotta love the South!

An hour earlier.… I went to my doctor for my annual checkup for my cholesterol and triglycerides. Good news! My levels are in the normal range now. And compared to what they were 2 years ago, they are excellent! She also gave me some pointers for the losing weight battle I’ve been in for the past 5 years or so. I need to boost my metabolism so she suggested starting strength training. This is all new to me. I have hand weights I use at home but the 5 and 10 lb weights really aren’t enough. So, starting tomorrow I will look into this new venture!

The weight just doesn’t seem to change, no matter what I do. I have increased the intensity of my workouts, eat healthy most of the time (an occasional sweet treat) , 1200 – 1500 calories a day,andΒ  get plenty of sleep. I quit drinking soda and drink water all day. Being a 40-something woman doesn’t help. Between hormones and stress, its a losing battle.Β  But I will not quit.

Back to my running story….I have been using an app on my phone for running training. I started off with the Couch to 5k and now I’m using the Couch to 10K plan. I like the app because I can listen to my playlists and it lets me know when to walk and when to run. Here was my workout today:

  • Brisk 5 minute walk to warm up
  • Run 10 minutes
  • Walk 1 minute
  • Repeat 4 times

I was nervous about the 10 minute thing. The last workout was 8 minutes and it was hard for me. In my head, I said to myself…”If I can’t do it, I’ll just walk.” But somehow, after getting started I finished the first 10 minute interval and didn’t need to take the easy way out. I kept the speed on the treadmill rather slow for this since I was nervous about finishing.Β But I DID IT! I was soaked in sweat when I left the gym, but somehow this was wonderful!

I had a massage scheduled for today at The Nurture Nook, so that made my day even more wonderful! Thanks, Tanya for stretching out my IT band and my quads!

I love days like this! If you have any advice for my weight issues or my running training, please comment!

2 thoughts on “The best run of my life…

Leave a Reply

