Running clubs, yea or nay?

 

Debating....should I join a running club?

I’ve been working on my running goals for over a year now and haven’t seen that much improvement. Time is a factor, since I’m a full time accountant and mother and wife and grandmother. O.k. that’s enough excuses! But there is hope…

Murfreesboro 5k

Β Summer Series

Registration is now open for the

Murfreesboro5k Summer Series training program.

My town is offering a FREE running club that begins in April and I’m seriously considering it.Β They will meet every Monday, Wednesday and Friday at 6 a.m. for 5k training. This will be a culture shock at first, since I usually run in the evenings. I may even have to alter my work schedule for this to work. That shouldn’t be a problem since my company has a flexible work schedule policy and I have the best boss in the world! The location is only a few miles from my house, so its convenient. Planned workouts are good for me also. If something is planned and I feel like others are depending on me, I will find a way to make it happen. I also think training with others may help me overcome some obstacles. The running club has several 5k’s planned for the year. I noticed a few of them I was already considering.Β  One downer about the timing of this club is I will have finished the 5k’s for the spring before it begins. But on the upside, it will prepare me for the fall.

Joy of running sculpture in Riverfront Park, Spokane WA

I also noticed my town is sponsoring a Thursday night walk/run on the Greenway for parents while kids are led in an exercise and games. It starts this week so I may just join in! Here’s a link to the article from our local newspaper Β Runners and Kids enjoy night outΒ .Β  The location of the event is the Gateway Island (pictured below) which links up to the Greenway. I’ve visited there several times for walking.

Gateway Island, Murfreesboro TN

Let me know your thoughts on joining a running club. I feel like I can’t lose since its FREE!

 

One thought on “Running clubs, yea or nay?

  1. There is a run club at the Nike store near me and I love it! It pushes me to run a little faster than I normally would and it makes running more fun. I definitely recommend you give it a try!

Leave a Reply

