Spring break – no time for calorie counting

We had a great family vacation and now we’re heading home. We packed up this morning and made our traditional stop at Flapjacks pancake house for breakfast. I had a yummy Spanish skillet with hash browns, cheese, eggs, topped with peppers, onions and salsa. And of course all meals come with pancakes!
image

I also insisted my daughter take a picture with the bear outside. She was thrilled!

image

It was a fun filled weekend but now its time to start counting calories again and hit the gym. I don’t feel too guilty about over eating since I did plenty of walking and even did a Tae bo workout last night.

image

We ate at several very good restaurants while on vacation. But I didn’t choose the “diet plate” at any of them.

image />

The Old Mill serves up southern country cooking. My choice was fried chicken with green beans, mashed potatoes and everyone gets a salad, corn chowder with corn fritters. My dessert choice was Apple cobbler.
image

Bubba Gump is a fun place, especially if you like the movie Forrest Gump. The servers quiz you on Forrest Gump trivia. Their specialty is shrimp. I had New Orleans shrimp. Delish!

image

Bullfish Grill never disappoints us. They have a great variety of dishes to choose from. I had fish and chips this time. Their strawberry salad is delightful too.

So from my eating habits for the last few days, you see why I’m ready to get back on track. It’s time to get back to counting calories, journalizing, and working out. My next 5k is on Saturday!

How do you manage to eat sensibly while on vacations?

Leave a comment