Is it too late to start living healthy?

I don’t think so. When I turned 40, I started having some health issues with cholesterol, high blood pressure and had to have a heart stress test. That was enough to motivate me to begin living healthy. Luckily my heart problem scare was nothing to be concerned about. But it was enough to make me aware of my risk for heart disease and to take the steps necessary to reduce my risk.

Most of my life I have spurts of an active lifestyle, along with my weight fluctuating up and down. I used to run in my early 20’s and liked it. I became lazy in my 30’s (after having kids) and gained weight. Now in my 40’s, I’m determined to be happy and healthy. It was time for a change.

My first quest at healthy living began with participating in charity walks in my community. The first one I did was the March for Babies walk. From then on, I signed up for as many walks as I could. After a year or so of walking, I decided to give running a try. Now I am running 5k’s and loving it. I still struggle since being older and heavier makes it difficult to run. But I refuse to give up.

My goal is to finish strong, not to be first to finish.

-Gina

Leave a Reply

